Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Leaving the parking lot of the Memorial Art Gallery in Rochester, NY I came across this beautiful stone and brick building in terrible shape with construction vehicles around it.  I went closer and noticed the incredible stone details around the doors, windows and stairs.  Surely they were preserving this beauty?  I took a few photos and came back a week later to find a flat lot scraped clean with no trace of the building.  Apparently it had a fire earlier this year: Building to Be Demolished.  I had so hoped they could save it or reuse the cut stone etc.  I am not sure what happened to the scrap.  Maybe a nice new building will be build here..

Click image for a larger view:

ISO 200, F/7.1, 1/60 sec, 24 mm Lens

ISO 200, F/7.1, 1/60 sec, 24 mm Lens

